Page 72 - NyghtVision Magazine Volume 5 #2
P. 72
2
The workers made good progress in building the nine-mile canal that would
bypass the rapids in the area. In 1823, just four years later, they completed
the project. The canal was three feet deep and 10 feet wide at the locks.
There were three sets of locks. The area to the left of the Museum (later
power plant) still has one of the locks. (See photo #2) Two earthen banks
contained the water as it flowed between locks. The canal was 40 feet wide
between these banks. The northern bank, the tow path, serves as the hiking
trail today. (See photo #4)
Along the path of the canal, it was necessary to cross Chockoyotte Creek.
The workers accomplished this by building an aqueduct. The hand-cut stone
in the aqueduct and arch is the original stone and still survives. (See lead
72 | Picturing History